Apple Device

How to Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone

Most iOS users always have their messages linked between their mac and iPhone. This means that they can actually use their Mac to send messages even after dropping their iPhone. Since it is possible to link your messages and save them on your mac, you might also be wondering if it is possible for you to delete this linked message on your mac without deleting it from your iPhone. If you’re asking this question, you are not alone. Keep on reading to find out what you can do.

 

Can You Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone?

It is actually possible to delete messages on your mac without deleting it from your iPhone but you need to make sure that some things are in place. If you have your iCloud feature turned on, it will not be possible to delete your messages on your mac only. This is because iCloud syncs your activities across your devices. If you delete a message on your mac, it will also affect the messages on your iPhone.

The best solution here is obviously to turn off the iCloud feature and you will be able to delete your messages on only your mac. With the iCloud feature turned off, it will not be able to sync your activities on the messages app. You don’t have to toggle off the iCloud feature completely, all you have to do is toggle off the feature when it comes to your messages. This is the easiest and most effective way to go about it. You don’t have to worry about what to do, we’ve got you covered. 

 

How to Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone

If you have your iCloud toggled on, you might find it really difficult to try and delete your messages from your mac without deleting it your iPhone. Your iCloud typically syncs your messages across both your mac and iPhone. It also syncs the activities that goes on between these devices. If you delete or edit a message on your mac, it will surely reflect on your iPhone. What do you do to fix this? Easy, all you have to do is turn off the iCloud feature.

How to Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone

Once the iCloud messages feature is turned off you will not be able to sync your messages between your mac and iPhone. This makes it easy for you to delete the messages only on your mac. Here’s what you need to do to toggle off iCloud:

  • Launch the messaging app on your mac.
  • On the upper left side of your screen, click on messages.
  • On the pop up menu you have to click on preferences.
  • A list of tabs should appear above the screen, tap on iMessage.
  • On the next screen you should see the enable messages in iCloud option. Tap on it to turn it off.
How to Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone
How to Delete Messages on Mac without Deleting from iPhone

After following the above steps, your messages should not sync across both your mac and iPhone anymore. This means you can now delete messages on your mac without having them being deleted from your iPhone. To delete the messages on your Mac, follow the steps below to do that:

  • Launch the messages app on your mac.
  • Scroll to the message you will like to delete and open it.
  • Take your mouse to the message and then right click.
  • A pop up list of options should appear, click on delete.

Must Read

How Do I Add a City to The World Clock on My iPhone?

Best iPhone Equalizer/volume Settings for Use in The Car?

How to See What’s on My iPhone Sim Card 

Can I Delete a Whole Conversation on Mac without Deleting from iPhone?

The above steps on my work with deleting one message at a time but what about deleting a whole conversation at once? Is it actually possible to delete a conversation on your mac without deleting it from your iPhone? Yes, you can. 

Like the above steps, you have to make sure that the messages feature on your iCloud is turned off. This is to stop the deleting process on your mac from reflecting on your iPhone. The steps to delete a whole conversation is just as easy as deleting one message at a time.

All you have to do is select your conversation and click on the right options to delete it. If you plan on deleting a whole conversation on your mac, follow the steps below to do that:

  • Launch the messages app on your mac.
  • Scroll to whatever conversation you will like to delete.
  • With your mouse, right click on the conversation.
  • A pop up menu should appear, click on the delete conversation option
  • You will get another pop up asking you to confirm the deleting process, tap on delete.

Can You Delete Messages from Mac on iPhone

It is possible to delete your messages from your mac with your iPhone but it comes with a catch. It means you will also be deleting the messages on your iPhone too. In order to delete your messages on mac with your iPhone you will need to use the iCloud feature and it need to be turned on. If the iCloud feature is on, it will sync your activities on your messages across your mac and iPhone. 

If you plan on leaving the messages on your iPhone untouched, it is recommended that you do not try this method as you will end up losing your messages on your iPhone too. You will also lose your messages if there are more devices that are in sync with your iCloud.

 

Conclusion

Deleting your messages on your mac without deleting them on you iPhone might seem like a rather impossible task but it isn’t. All you have to do is turn off the iCloud messages features to stop it from syncing your activities between your mac and iPhone.

From there, you only have to follow a few steps to delete the messages on your mac without deleting on your iPhone. If you also plan on deleting a whole conversation, it is also very possible to do so. At the end of reading this article you must have understood all there is to know about it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button