How To Delete Wattpad Account On iPhone
Wattpad as we know allows you to read and also write stories, novels and even poetry. Despite all of these features, there are times we might want to get rid of our account. How do you actually delete and get rid of your account when you want to? Can you delete the account with your iPhone? If you’re asking these questions then keep on reading as we’ve provided answers and solutions to those questions.
CAN WATTPAD ACCOUNT BE DELETED ON IPHONE?
Deleting your Wattpad account was near impossible in the past, you would need to write an email to Wattpad requesting for them to delete your account and it would take days and even months. The good news is that you can now delete your Wattpad account anytime you want with ease.
So yes, it is entirely possible to delete your Wattpad account and it’s quite easy. You will have to sign into your Wattpad account on their website so you can delete your account as this is the only way you can do it. It isn’t possible to delete your Wattpad account from the app yet.
Since we’ve learnt that it is possible to delete your Wattpad account, how exactly do you do it? What are the things and steps you have to follow? Keep on reading.
HOW TO DELETE A WATTPAD ACCOUNT ON IPHONE
There could be lots of reasons why you would want to delete your Wattpad account, it could be that your account was hacked, or maybe you just want to get rid of it because of something else. Whatever your reason is for choosing to delete your account, you should also be aware that deleting your Wattpad account means that you are also getting rid of all the information and data you had on the account. You will not have access to those data anymore unless you have backed them up. If you’re okay with that, here’s how to delete Wattpad account on iPhone using their website:
- Open your iPhone’s browser and set it to desktop mode.
- Log into your account at wattpad.com.
- After logging in, click on your profile to access the menu.
- Tap on Settings.
- On the settings page you will have to scroll down until you find the “Close my account” option at the bottom of the settings page.
- Tap on the “delete my account” option.
- You will be asked why you want to delete your account, you can pick any option you think is okay and proceed.
- You will then have to confirm your password.
- Confirm the whole deleting process.
It’s that quick and easy, with the above steps you should be able to successfully delete your Wattpad account permanently. You will be sent an email which should say that you have successfully deleted your Wattpad account permanently.
CAN YOU DELETE YOUR WATTPAD ACCOUNT IF YOU FORGOT YOUR PASSWORD?
If you have misplaced your password or maybe you don’t remember your password anymore, you won’t be able to delete your account permanently because you need to log into your Wattpad account before you can delete it.
If you have forgotten your password you can click the “forgot password” option while trying to log into your account and you have to provide the email linked to your Wattpad account. This will make it possible for you to change your password so you can log in and delete your Wattpad account.
If you don’t have access to the email you had used for your Wattpad account, it won’t be possible to delete your Wattpad account.
HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO PERMANENTLY DELETE A WATTPAD ACCOUNT ON IPHONE
It depends. Normally, it takes about 6 months to successfully delete your account. After closing your account it becomes deactivated and if you don’t log into the account or try to recover it within the period of 6 months, your account would successfully be deleted.
The reason it’s deactivated before it’s deleted is that Wattpad is giving you the chance to reactivate your account within that short time if you choose not to delete your account anymore.
You should also note that some accounts also get deleted within a month or two after deactivation so it actually depends but it doesn’t exceed the period of 6 months of deactivation before it gets deleted. It has also been recorded that some accounts get deleted immediately after they close the account.
WHY SHOULD YOU DELETE A WATTPAD ACCOUNT?
Apart from the cyber-attack they faced back in 2021, there’s no major reason why you should delete your Wattpad account so it all comes down to your preferences.
The cyber-attack they faced was already taken care of and Wattpad is generally safe since it was restored. The information you provide to Wattpad are mostly confidential and are not shared with anyone else.
If you still want to delete your account due to personal reasons then it’s all up to you.
CAN YOU SEE POSTS FROM A DELETED WATTPAD ACCOUNT?
Your posts and comments on Wattpad will still be seen by others even when you delete your account but your profile will be empty. Your comments and posts will show as though they’re coming from an anonymous account.
One thing to realize is that nobody will be able to search you up your deleted Wattpad account on Wattpad or google because you will lose your username which is usually used to search you up. Your posts and comments can only be seen in the specific regions, labels or places you had put them in.
Wrapping It Up
Deleting your Wattpad account is actually easy once you follow the easy steps above. Like it was stated earlier, you will lose all data on your Wattpad account like any written pieces you might have worked on, your reading list and possibly your comments too. You will not be able to recover your account anymore after it has been deleted permanently from Wattpad.
You can only delete your account from the Wattpad website as there’s no feature to delete your account permanently from the app yet. Hopefully, the above tips have given you enough guidance to help you delete your account.