The iPhone block prank! If you’ve been wondering how you can pull a little prank stunt that could scare some people into thinking they’ve been blocked, then you’re looking in the right direction.
The best part about what you’re going to be doing as will be shown in this article is that there’s no actual blocking whatsoever. You just let the target persons figure out what you’re trying to do themselves and their thought be most definitely wrong because they were never blocked. Continue reading to find out exactly how to do this;
How To Make Someone Think You Blocked Them On iPhone
We already know what’s obtainable when contact is blocked on iPhone These will be what you’d be mimicking to get them to believe that they’ve been blocked. For instance, a blocked contact will not be able to reach the person who hit the block option via call. All attempts to call will not go through but will enter the voicemail folder.
Below are some of the pranks you can use to make the other party believe they’ve been blocked when actually it’s not true.
1. Turn Off WIFI/Data
This will work best especially if the target person communicates more to you using the iPhone default messaging application – iMessage. When a blocked contact sends an iMessage, they’re quite well sent but are never read because the message remains green in color.
This same effect can also be achieved without actually blocking the person, but by turning off cellular data and WIFI. This way, messages they send to you hoping they will be read will remain green instead of blue.
For the best result, Leave your data and WIFI turned off for about 5 hours or more if you can. This has a good of making them run out of the thought that you’ve been busy to not have replied but have actually blocked them.
2. Disable Facetime
A blocked contact will want to make sure they’ve thoroughly been blocked on all channels. So, if they’ve tried calling and texting without response, they may also decide to try a Facetime video or audio chat. Hence the need to disable FaceTime. Here’s how to disable FaceTime;
- Open iPhone settings
- Scroll down and tap on FaceTime
- Toggle the face time switch to off
If they’re unable to reach you on FaceTime because you’ve disabled it, they’ll quickly resolve in their heart that they’ve been blocked.
3. Turn Off Contact Photo
This will do the trick just fine with your data or WIFI turned off long enough. Removing your contact photo on iMessage immediately creates the impression to them quickly that they’ve been blocked. If you’re not sure how to remove your display photo on iMessage, follow the guide below;
- Open iPhone settings
- Tap on Messages
- Tap Share name and photo
- You’ll find your current display image, tap on ‘X’ button to the right of the image
- Tap Done
4. Turn Off Read Receipts
Using this prank does not require you turn off your data. Rather, you’ll continue to receive the messages of the target person, but they’ll never know that you actually read them. Usually, read messages on iPhone will transit from green to blue in color. But when you turn off ‘Read receipts’, all messages from the sender will remain green in color even when you read them and that’s a good way to make them think that you’ve blocked them.
Here’s how to turn off Read receipts on iMessage;
- Open iPhone settings
- Scroll down and tap messages
- Find ‘Send Read Receipts’ option on the list
- Toggle the switch to off. It’ll change color to gray.
5. Airplane mode
In my opinion, this is the ultimate way to make someone believe that you have blocked them. Turning on Airplane mode will stop all forms of communication to you iPhone. No calls will come in, neither text nor FaceTime chat. To solidify the effect more, what you can do is to sustain the Airplane mode for a longer time, say 4 -7 is ideal.
The downside it that, you’ll also prevent other people that are not your target from reaching you and that can be troubling for some well meaning people on your contact, but I assure it’ll do play the prank just fine. Here’s how to activate Airplane mode;
- Open the Control Center
- Tap on the Airplane button, it’ll turn orange.
- Leave it that way for as long as you want.
Will Someone Know You Blocked Their Number?
Usually, No. iPhone does not announce to a person on your contact that they’ve been blocked. They can go ahead to text you and it’ll be sent from their end just like every other day, but the difference is that you’ll never receive the message and so will not be able to reply.
If the blocked contact tries to call you via FaceTime, they also will not be notified that you’ve blocked them, rather the call will ring till the end with nobody picking. You won’t even know they called, iPhone doesn’t tell you either.
When blocked contacts call your number normally, they’ll be asked to leave a message which will go straight to voicemail, although they won’t still be told that you blocked them. But this can be a clue to them that they’ve been blocked, especially when they try multiple times to reach you via call and asked each time to leave a message. Apart from that, they’ll never know that they’ve been blocked.
Can You Temporarily Block Someone On iPhone?
Yes, you can blocked anyone temporarily on iPhone. By temporarily, I mean you can choose not to receive any calls or text from them for a set time, after which you’ll unblock them. So depending on when you wish to lift the block on the contact, you can set an alarm or reminder for the number of hours or days respectively you want to leave the contact blocked.
Here’s how to block someone temporarily;
- Set your alarm to the desired number of hours or your reminder to the particular day the block should be lifted
- Open the iMessage app
- Tap on your conversation with the contact
- Tap on the ‘i’ icon at the top right side of the screen
- Scroll down and select ‘Block this caller’
- Confirm by tapping on ‘Block Contact’ on the pop up.
How Do You Block Someone Without Them Knowing On iPhone?
iPhone doesn’t plainly say to a blocked contact that they’ve been blocked. In fact, sometimes when the blocked contact tries to call, they’ll quickly get a voice recording stating that the user is busy and should call back later. This statement will sound very normal to them as it’s common to get that kind of response blocked or not. However, it will only be a matter of time until they find out that you blocked them.
Hence, they may not realize in the beginning that you blocked them but will probably find out with the passage of them.
How to Block Messages on iPhone
There are 3 simple ways to block or hide text messages on an iPhone or any iOS device that can receive messages.
- The first option is by hiding alerts under the contact you want to block. This doesn’t block the messages from coming in, however, it won’t notify you that you received a message and you can easily ignore it.
- The second and most used option is blocking the contact. You can do this by clicking on their name or a number and choosing I, to get to the information page. On the bottom of the contact page, you can block the sender and it will block all messages and calls.
- The third option is inside settings/messages. Here, you can filter all unknown callers. This will create a new section inside your messages app and send all messages from unknown contacts there.
A little bit of prank on your friend won’t hurt, right? You can get them to think that you blocked them by using the some of the tricks I have outlined above. I think my best option would be to turn of Read Receipts on iMessage, what would yours be?