Apple Device

Why Do Some of My Contacts Have Pictures iPhone

Technology is amazing, we’re all used to it but sometimes it gets a bit confusing. Saving people’s numbers on your iPhone is a quick and easy way for you to use and contact them when you need to. After saving a few contacts on your iPhone, you might get to notice later on that a few of the contacts have been stored with pictures. In fact, the pictures are always accurate and directly correspond with the person’s number you saved. Why did this happen? Well, a lot of people are asking this same question and we’re going to give you the perfect answer at the end of reading this article. 

 

Why Do Some of My Contacts Have Pictures iPhone?

After saving someone’s number on your contact list, you might notice that their picture seems to have also been saved alongside their contact after a while. The funny thing is that you never made any provision or settings for the picture to be displayed. Even if you made no settings for the pictures to display, you still get an accurate pic of whoever you saved their number despite not having any of their pictures saved on your iPhone’s gallery.

Why exactly does this happen and what exactly is behind it? The reason why the pictures are displayed is because your iPhone has been set up to automatically sync with Google contacts. This means that their number will be saved with whatever picture that they had already set on their Google contacts profile. As long as your Google contacts are set to sync with your iPhone, it will always be responsible for showing pictures on some of your contacts.

This feature is meant to help you easily identify different Google contacts just by looking at them but they might end up being a nuisance to you depending on your taste. If they are a nuisance, you might want to get rid of these contact pictures or to stop Google contacts from syncing the pictures.

To stop Google contacts from syncing and displaying pictures on your contact list, you just have to turn off the feature on your Google account’s settings. This way, you won’t get to see pictures appear randomly on your contact list because of the Google sync.  If you have no idea on how to turn it off, don’t worry. We will show you what you need to do.

Must Read

How to Get Photos Icon Back on iPhone

Why Didn’t Apple Accept a Repaired iPhone at An Instore Trade In

How to Fix iPhone Screen Dim when Hot

Can I Stop My iPhone from Showing Some Contact Picture?

Like we had mentioned, the reason why some of your contacts are displaying pictures is because your iPhone has been set to sync with your Google contacts automatically. As long as this setting is active, you will always get pictures on some of your saved contacts. Luckily, there is an option for you to turn it off. If you aren’t entirely comfortable with the idea of some of your contacts showing pictures, you can always turn it off.

All you have to do is change the Google accounts settings that have been set on your iPhone’s contacts. Through the settings, tap on the Google contacts sync to turn off the automatic syncing process. If you have no idea on how to do this, don’t panic. Follow the easy steps below to turn off the Google contact sync on your iPhone:

  • Launch the settings app on your iPhone.
  • On the next screen, tap on the contacts option.
  • Tap on the accounts option.
  • You should see your Google account on your next screen, under the account options you will have to tap on contacts and turn it off. 

After turning off the Google contact syncing process, your iPhone shouldn’t be saving Google contacts with pictures anymore. 

Do Other People Get to See My Pictures Too on Google Contact?

If you had set up the Google contact sync on your iPhone, there’s a high chance that you set up your profile. If you have put in a profile picture for your account, other people will get to see this picture as your contact photo on Google contacts. 

This is exactly how Google contacts work. The same way you get to see other peoples pictures saved on your contact list is how they will get to see yours if they turn on the Google contact sync on their iPhone. It’s pretty normal as it is meant to aid with easy identification.

If you want to get rid of your picture, it is pretty easy to do. Instead of people seeing your picture, the contact photo field is going to be empty. All you need to do is remove your picture from your Google account. Open your Google account, tap on your profile and tap on edit to change or remove the picture. 

 

How Do I Also Remove Contact Photos on My iPhone

If you are planning on also removing a few of the contact pictures that have already been saved on your iPhone, it is pretty easy to do so. All you have to do is delete the picture directly from the contacts app on your iPhone. If you don’t know how to go about it, don’t worry. We’ll give you the easy steps you need to follow. Here’s what you need to do:

  • Launch the contacts app on your iPhone.
  • Tap on the contact that you want to delete the picture.
  • Tap on the edit option at the top right part of the next screen.
  • Tap on the tiny edit under contact photo.
  • Tap on delete photo.

What you should note is that by following this step, you are deleting the contact photo permanently, the only way to put back the contact photos is by following a whole new different kind of steps to set it up.

 

CONCLUSION

The main reason why some of your contacts are displaying a photo is because you have your Google contacts automatic sync turned on. When this happens, you get to see the pictures of people who are based on Google contacts. In this article, we have shown you easy steps you can take to turn off the Google contacts sync.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button